Albert J. Kingston Award

History of the Award

The Albert J. Kingston Service Award is given to honor an LRA member for distinguished contributions of service to LRA. The Albert J. Kingston Award has been presented annually since 1985.


Criteria for Consideration for the Award
Eligibility for the Albert J. Kingston Award is limited to LRA members who have provided distinguished service contributions to LRA.

Procedures for Nomination
Those nominating an individual for the Albert J. Kingston Award are asked to submit one copy of the nominee’s current curriculum vita and a letter nominating the individual that describes the service contributions made to LRA. Nominees must have belonged to LRA for at least 5 years. Any LRA member may nominate deserving candidates for recognition of their work. Nominations should be submitted electronically via e-mail to the Chair before August 15th.

Review Process
Electronic copies of each nominee’s curriculum vita and nomination letter are sent to members of the Award Committee. Committee members rank each nominee in order from highest to lowest according to the stated criteria of substantial and significant contributions of service to LRA and the breadth, depth, and length of contributions to LRA. The chair averages these rankings, and the recipient is selected according to the person receiving the highest average ranking. This process is completed by September 15th of each year. The recipient is notified as soon as possible (no later than October 1) so that they might attend the conference to receive the award. The recipient of the Albert J. Kingston Award will receive a plaque and a lifetime membership in LRA.

Albert J. Kingston Award Committee

Jennifer Jones-Powell (, Chair
Elizabeth Dutro (, Liaison
Barbara Bradley (, Committee Member
Lenny Sanchez (, Committee Member
Bernadette Dwyer (, Committee Member
Haeny Yoon (, Committee Member
Paola Pilonieta (, Committee Member
Terry Atkinson (, Committee Member

Albert J. Kingston Award Winners 
Harry Singer (1985) 
Irene Athey (1986) 
Frank Greene (1987) 
Thomas H. Estes (1988) 
Michael L. Kamil (1989) 
Trika Smith-Burke (1990) 
Edward B. Fry (1991) 
Patricia L. Anders (1992) 
Jerome C. Harste (1993) 
Jerome A. Niles (1994) 
John E. Readence (1995) 
Richard Robinson (1996) 
Donna E. Alvermann (1997) 
Ronald P. Carver (1998) 
Lea McGee (1999) 
Lee Gunderson (2000) 
Linda Gambrell (2001)
Jim Hoffman (2002)
Martha Ruddell (2003)
Peter Mosenthal (2004) 
Colin Harrison (2005)
Douglas Hartman (2006)
Michael McKenna (2006)
John McEneaney (2007)
P. David Pearson (2008)
Diane Barone (2009)
Cathy Roller (2009)
Susan L’Allier (2010)
Marla H. Mallette (2011)
Patricia A. Edwards (2012)
Norm Stahl (2013)
David Reinking (2014)
Kathleen Hinchman (2015)
Dr. Fenice Boyd (2016)
Eurydice Bauer (2017)