LRA AREA CHAIRS
(Area Chair Terms are for 3 years)

 Area 1.  Pre-service Teacher Education in Literacy

Melissa Mosley Wetzel The University of Texas at Austin mmwetzel@utexas.edu 2016-2018
Jennifer Danridge Turner University of Maryland College Park jdturner@umd.edu 2018-2020
Darrell Hucks Keene State College dhucks@keene.edu 2018-2020
Noah Golden Chapman University ngolden@chapman.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 2. In-service Teacher Education/Professional Development in Literacy

Judson Laughter University of Tennessee – Knoxville jlaught3@utk.edu 2016-2018
Courtney Kelly Manhattanville College courtneyryankelly@gmail.com 2016-2018
Mary McGriff New Jersey City University mmcgriff@njcu.edu 2016-2018
Marva Solomon Angelo State University Marva.solomon@angelo.edu 2016-2018
Kirsten Hill University of Michigan-Dearborn kirdara@umich.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 3. Literacy Instruction and Literacy Learning

Keonghee Tao Han University of Wyoming khan@uwyo.edu 2016-2018
Jacqueline Lynch Florida International University jaclynch@fiu.edu 2016-2018
Katherine Frankel Boston University kfrankel@bu.edu 2017-2019
Evan Ortlieb St. John’s University ortliebe@stjohns.edu 2018-2020
Jennifer Roswell Brock University jrowsell@brocku.ca 2018-2020

 

Area 4. Literacy Assessment, Evaluation, and Public Policy

Rachael Gabriel University of Connecticut rachael.gabriel@uconn.edu 2016-2018
Bobbie Kabuto Queens College Bobbie.Kabuto@qc.cuny.edu 2018-2020
Elizabeth Stevens Roberts Wesleyan College Stevens_Elizabeth@roberts.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 5. Early and Elementary Literacy Processes 

Ying Guo University of Cincinnati guoy3@ucmail.uc.edu 2016-2018
Jacquelynn Malloy Clemson University malloy2@g.clemson.edu 2018-2020
Ashley Patterson Penn State University anp5404@psu.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 6.  Adolescent, College, and Adult Literacy Processes

Carol Delaney Texas State University cdelaney@txstate.edu 2016-2018
Heidi Bacon Southern Illinois University - Carbondale hrbacon@siu.edu 2016-2018
Jody Polleck Hunter College jody.polleck@gmail.com 2018-2020
Jill Castek University of Arizona jcastek@email.arizona.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 7. Social, Cultural, and Political Issues of Literacy Practices In and Out of School

Kate Pahl University of Sheffield k.pahl@sheffield.ac.uk 2016-2018
Lenny Sánchez University of South Carolina sanchezl@sc.edu 2016-2018
Judith Dunkerly-Bean Old Dominion University jdunkerl@odu.edu 2017-2019
Maisha T. Winn University of California, Davis mtwinn@ucdavis.edu 2018-2020
Melody Zoch University of North Carolina, Greensboro mzoch@uncg.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 8. Literacy Learning and Practice in Multilingual and Multicultural Settings

Mariana Pacheco University of Wisconsin-Madison mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu 2016-2018
Julie Pennington University of Nevada-Reno juliep@unr.edu 2016-2018
Kwangok Song Arkansas State University ksong@astate.edu 2017-2019
Ting Yuan City University of New York tingyuan1999@gmail.com 2018-2020


Area 9. Text Analysis/Children’s, Young Adult, and Adult Literature

Jesse Gainer Texas State University JesseGainer@txstate.edu  2016-2018
Mark Lewis Loyola University Maryland malewis2@loyola.edu 2018-2020
Amanda Thein University of Iowa amanda-haertling-thein@uiowa.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 10. Literacy Technology and Media

Tisha Lewis Ellison University of Georgia tishayL@yahoo.com 2016-2018
Poonam Arya Wayne State University parya@wayne.edu 2018-2020
Tanya Christ Oakland University christ@oakland.edu 2018-2020
Jon Wargo Boston College wargoj@bc.edu 2018-2020

 

Area 11. Research Theory, Methods, and Practices

Kristin Conradi The College of William and Mary conradi@wm.edu 2016-2018
Danny Martinez UC Davis dcmar@ucdavis.edu 2017-2019
Joseph Rumenapp Judson University Joseph.rumenapp@judsonu.edu 2017-2019

 

Area 12.  International Research on Literacy Teaching and Learning

Lori CzopAssaf Texas State University lassaf@txstate.edu 2017-2019
Katina Zammit Western Sydney University k.zammit@westernsydney.edu.au 2017-2019
Jacqueline D'warte Western Sydney University j.dwarte@westernsydney.edu.au 2018-2020

 

Area 13. Study Groups

Keisha Green University of Massachusetts Amherst klgreen@educ.umass.edu 2018-2020
Meghan Barnes University of North Carolina at Charlotte meghan824@gmail.com 2018-2020

 

Area 14. Other Topics

Candace Kuby University of Missouri-Columbia kubyc@missouri.edu 2016-2018
Bong Gee Jang Syracuse University bojang@syr.edu 2017-2019