LRA AREA CHAIRS 2017
(Area Chair Terms are for 3 years)

Area 1.  Pre-service Teacher Education in Literacy

Melissa Mosley Wetzel

The University of Texas-Austin

mmwetzel@utexas.edu

2016-2018

Jennifer Danridge Turner

University of Maryland College Park

jdturner@umd.edu

2018-2020

Darrell Hucks

Keene State College

dch244@gmail.com

2018-2020

Noah Golden

Chapman University

ngolden@chapman.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 2. In-service Teacher Education/Professional Development in Literacy

 

Judson Laughter

University of Tennessee – Knoxville

jlaught3@utk.edu

2016-2018

Courtney Kelly

Manhattanville College

courtneyryankelly@gmail.com

2016-2018

Mary McGriff

New Jersey City University

mmcgriff@njcu.edu

2016-2018

Marva Solomon

Angelo State University

Marva.solomon@angelo.edu

2016-2018

Kirsten Hill

University of Michigan-Dearborn

kirdara@umich.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 3. Literacy Instruction and Literacy Learning

Keonghee Tao Han

University of Wyoming

khan@uwyo.edu

2016-2018

Jacqueline Lynch

York University

jlynch@edu.yorku.ca

2016-2018

Katherine Frankel

Boston University

kfrankel@bu.edu

2017-2019

Evan Ortlieb

St. John’s University

ortliebe@stjohns.edu

2018-2020

Jennifer Roswell

Brock University

jrowsell@brocku.ca

2018-2020

       

Area 4. Literacy Assessment, Evaluation, and Public Policy

Rachael Gabriel

University of Connecticut

rachael.gabriel@uconn.edu

2016-2018

Bobbie Kabuto

Queens College

Bobbie.Kabuto@qc.cuny.edu

2018-2020

Elizabeth Stevens

Roberts Wesleyan College

Stevens_Elizabeth@roberts.edu

2018-2020

       

Area 5. Early and Elementary Literacy Processes 

Ying Guo

University of Cincinnati

guoy3@ucmail.uc.edu

2016-2018

Jacquelynn Malloy

Clemson University

malloy2@g.clemson.edu

2018-2020

Ashley Patterson

Penn State University

anp5404@psu.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 6.  Adolescent, College, and Adult Literacy Processes

Carol Delaney

Texas State University

cdelaney@txstate.edu

2016-2018

Heidi Bacon

Southern Illinois University - Carbondale

hrbacon@siu.edu

2016-2018

Jody Polleck

Hunter College

jody.polleck@gmail.com

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 7. Social, Cultural, and Political Issues of Literacy Practices In and Out of School

Kate Pahl

University of Sheffield

k.pahl@sheffield.ac.uk

2016-2018

Lenny Sánchez

University of South Carolina

sanchezl@sc.edu

2016-2018

Judith Dunkerly-Bean

Old Dominion University

jdunkerl@odu.edu

2017-2019

MaishaT. Winn

University of California, Davis

mtwinn@ucdavis.edu

2018-2020

Melody Zoch

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

mzoch@uncg.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 8. Literacy Learning and Practice in Multilingual and Multicultural Settings

Mariana Pacheco

University of Wisconsin-Madison

mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu

2016-2018

Julie Pennington  

University of Nevada-Reno

juliep@unr.edu   

2016-2018

Sandra Osario   

Illinois State University  

sosorio@ilstu.edu

2016-2018

Kwangok Song

Arkansas State University

ksong@astate.edu

2017-2019

Ting Yuan

City University of New York

tingyuan1999@gmail.com

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 9. Text Analysis/Children’s, Young Adult, and Adult Literature

Jesse Gainer 

Texas State University  

JesseGainer@txstate.edu 

2016-2018

Mark Lewis

Loyola University Maryland

malewis2@loyola.edu

2018-2020

Amanda Thein

University of Iowa

amanda-haertling-thein@uiowa.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 10. Literacy Technology and Media

Tisha Lewis Ellison

University of Georgia

tishayL@yahoo.com

2016-2018

Poonam Arya

Wayne State University

parya@wayne.edu

2018-2020

Tanya Christ

Oakland University

christ@oakland.edu

2018-2020

Jon Wargo

Boston College

wargoj@bc.edu

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 11. Research Theory, Methods, and Practices

Kristin Conradi

The College of William and Mary

conradi@wm.edu

2016-2018

Danny Martinez

UC Davis

dcmar@ucdavis.edu

2017-2019

Joseph Rumenapp

Judson University

Joseph.rumenapp@judsonu.edu

2017-2019

 

 

 

 

Area 12.  International Research on Literacy Teaching and Learning

Lori CzopAssaf

Texas State University

lassaf@txstate.edu

2017-2019

Patience Sowa

Research Triangle Institute International

Patiencesowa95@gmail.com

2017-2019

Katina Zammit

Western Sydney University

k.zammit@westernsydney.edu.au

2017-2019

 

 

 

 

Area 13. Study Groups

Christine Mallozzi

University of Kentucky

christine.mallozzi@gmail.com

2016-2018

Meghan Barnes

University of North Carolina at Charlotte

meghan824@gmail.com

2018-2020

 

 

 

 

Area 14. Other Topics

Candace Kuby 

University of Missouri-Columbia

kubyc@missouri.edu

2016-2018

Bong Gee Jang

Syracuse University

bojang@syr.edu

2017-2019