Edward B. Fry Book Award

History of the Award

The purpose of the Edward B. Fry Book Award is to recognize LRA members who author a book on literacy research and practice. The award was established by Edward B. Fry who contributed a fund to support it. The first award was presented in 1995. An award seal was designed and used for the first time in 2000.

Criteria for Consideration for the Award

Eligibility for the award is limited to current members of LRA who have written or been one of several authors of a book. The book must have a copyright date within 5 years of the date when the award is made.

The book that receives the award will:

  • Advance knowledge about literacy
  • Display inquiry into literacy
  • Show responsible intellectual risk taking

Procedures for Nominations

Letters of nomination and a copy of the nominated book must be sent to the Chair before May 15th. Nomination letters must directly address the ways in which the nominated book meets the criteria outlined above. Letters cannot simply reiterate the endorsements or summaries designed to promote the text. Self-nominations are accepted. A book may be re-nominated if it has been previously nominated but did not win the award.

Review Process

Once nominations are received, the Chair reviews them to make sure they are eligible in terms of authorship and copyright date. The Chair contacts the publishers of the books to secure review copies for all Committee members. Publishers may send books directly to Committee members or send copies to the Chair to distribute. The Chair sends review and ranking forms to Committee members and information about the deadline for returning them. Committee members may e-mail their reviews and ranking information but also must send the forms to the Chair for the archives. When review and ranking forms are received from all Committee members, the Chair tallies the ranking forms, averages the scores, and determines the award winner. The Chair then notifies the recipient of the award, Committee members, and the Executive Director, emphasizing that the information is not to be revealed until the presentation at the Annual Conference. Notification should occur no later than October 1st.

Presentation of Award

The Edward B. Fry Book Award is presented at the annual conference and the author receives a plaque, a monetary award. The monetary award will be in the amount of 5 percent of the principal in the Fund. If there is more than one author, the amount will be distributed equally among co-authors.

Edward B. Fry Book Award Committee

Illiana Reyes ([email protected]), Chair
Ramon Martinez ([email protected]), Liaison
Maria Paula Ghiso ([email protected]), Committee Member
Maureen Boyd ([email protected]), Committee Member
Monica Yoo ([email protected]), Committee Member
Ioney James ([email protected]), Committee Member
Zaline Roy-Campbell ([email protected]), Committee Member
Laura Tortorelli ([email protected]), Committee Member
Keonghee "Tao" Han ([email protected]), Committee Member
Leslie Burns ([email protected]), Committee Member
Jacqueline Lynch ([email protected]), Committee Member


Edward B. Fry Book Award Winners 
Elizabeth Bernhardt (1995) 
Sarah Warshauer Freedman (1996) 
David Reinking (1999) 
Michael McKenna (1999) 
Linda Labbo (1999) 
Ronald Kieffer (1999) 
Sarah Warshauer Freedman (2000) 
Elizabeth Radin Simons (2000) 
Julie Shallhope Kalnin (2000) 
Alex Casareno (2000) 
The M-Class Team (2000) 
Susan Florio-Ruane (2001)
Cynthia Lewis (2002)
Dennis J. Sumara (2003)
Rebecca Rogers (2003)
Michael L. Kamil (2004)
Peter B. Mosenthal (2004)
P. David Pearson (2004)
Rebecca Barr (2004) 
Loukia Sarroub (2005)
Elaine Richardson (2005)
Guofang Li (2006)
Patricia E. Enciso (2007)
Cynthia J. Lewis (2007)
Elizabeth Birr Moje (2007)
Lawrence R. Sipe (2008)
Randy Bomer (2009)
Leila Christenbury (2009)
Peter Smagorinsky (2009)
Mary M. Juzwik (2010)
Patricia A. Edwards (2011)
Gwendolyn Thompson McMillon (2011)
Jennifer D. Turner (2011)
Leslie Burns (2012)
Elizabeth Edwards (2012)
Leigh Hall (2012)
Guofang Li (2013)
JuliAnna Ávila & Jessica Zacher Pandya (2014)
Evelyn Arizpe, Teresa Colomer & Carmen Martínez-Roldán (2015)
Kathy A. Mills (2016)
Gerald Campano, Maria Paula Ghiso & Bethany J. Welch (2017)
Caitlin L. Ryan & Jill Hermann-Wilmarth (2018)
Allison Skerrett (2019)