Award Committee Descriptions

Purpose: The purpose of the Awards Committees is to recognize the extraordinary achievement and effort by those who significantly enhance literacy research and scholarship, as well as those who significantly promote the welfare of LRA itself.
Charge: The primary charge is to solicit nominees for the award, gather nominees’ materials, review nominees’ materials, and present the award at the annual conference.
Prerequisites: (Member) Skills/knowledge related to purpose of award. (Chair) Prior service on that committee; long-term relationship with LRA.
Term Length: 3 years
Appointment Process: Members and Chair appointed by the Past President.
  • Albert J. Kingston Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor an LRA member for distinguished contributions of service to LRA.
  • Arthur Applebee Award for Excellence in Research on Literacy Committee: The Arthur Applebee Award is presented annually to honor an outstanding article in literacy research published in a referred journal in the previous calendar year. The award is presented in memory of University at Albany - SUNY Distinguished Professor Arthur N. Applebee, internationally renowned for his seminal scholarship in the fields of literacy and language learning. 
  • Brian Street Award Committee: The purposes of this award are (1) to honor the contributions to theory, research, and practice that Brian Street made to the field of literacy studies by bringing together social anthropology, education, literacy studies, and ethnographic field work, and (2) to encourage intellectual conversations across borders about literacy practices, culture, language, and education that he so highly valued. More specifically, with regard to encouraging conversations (purpose #2), the award provides financial support to enable the participation at the Literacy Research Association annual conference of a scholar (or scholars) from outside the United States whose scholarship bridges anthropology and education (with preference for junior scholars and doctoral students who would otherwise not be able to attend the LRA conference).
  • Distinguished Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor a distinguished scholar for a lifetime contribution that has had a significant impact on the field of literacy theory, research, and practice. The award acknowledges an outstanding individual who has not been actively involved in LRA in Committee work, editorial work, or presentations, but whose lifetime work, never the less, has had a major influence on literacy theory, research, and practice of the LRA membership.
  • Early Career Achievement Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor the new members of the LRA community who have been actively involved in research, teaching, and service for approximately 3-7 years and have demonstrated outstanding commitment and accomplishment.
  • Edward B. Fry Book Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor LRA members who author a book on literacy research and practice.
  • J. Michael Parker Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor the memory of J. Michael Parker and his interest in adult literacy research. The award is intended to help pay for Annual Conference expenses for a doctoral student or untenured professor. The award also is intended to encourage research in adult literacy.
  • Oscar Causey Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor an LRA member for outstanding contributions to reading research. Dr. Oscar S. Causey was the founder of LRA and served many years as Chair of the Executive Committee.
  • P. David Pearson Scholarly Influence Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor an individual who has published an article/chapter/book at least 5 years prior to the nomination that has demonstrably and positively influenced literacy practices and/or policies within district, school and/or classroom settings.
  • Scholars of Color Transitioning into Academic Research Institutions (STAR) Program Director: The STAR mentoring program promotes excellence in high-quality, literacy-related research that addresses the issues and opportunities related to diversity. The award supports historically underrepresented researchers of color or researchers whose first language is not English, but who are also scholars of color.
  • Student Outstanding Research Award Committee: Awarded annually to honor a student member of LRA in recognition of an outstanding research paper presented at the Annual Conference during the current award year.